编辑: 元素吧里的召唤 2019-07-03
阅读下面短文,从短文后各题所给的A、B、C和D四个选项中, 选出可以填入空白处的最佳选项.

Our teachers tried teaching us about death during nursing training. As a student nurse, I knew I would see death in my __41__. I had no idea of the __42__ it would have on me, __43__. The first person I saw die was an elderly man, John, who had been __44__ for weeks. His heart was __45__ and the health-care team was keeping him comfortable and __46__ his symptoms. He had stopped speaking days before but was still awake at times, and his __47__ when we spoke to him was beautiful. When I came on to the __48__ one morning, the night staff said he had deteriorated (恶化) overnight and had __49__ left to leave. A trained nurse and I gave him a bed bath, shaved him and changed his sheets. For the next six hours I __50__ his hand and talked to him. The doctor came in regularly and asked if he needed more pain relief but he seemed __51__ most of the time. He only __52__ opened his eyes to smile at me. Early in the afternoon the nurse came back in and we washed his face and __53__ his hair. As she was just about to leave the room, she stroked his hair and said:"Oh John, just __54__." Minutes later, he did. It has been